brown butter brown sugar cookies

Brown Butter Brown Sugar Cookies

How is it still winter?

I not asking you to explain seasons or the Earth’s proximity to the Sun or anything like that. I just want to know how in the heck is it still winter? Haven’t I suffered long enough? My nose is always numb. It’s still dark when I leave for work in the morning. I have to wear TWO PAIRS OF PANTS for chrissake.

I’m over winter. And I’m rebelling by making comfort food in hopes that it will comfort me in my time of need. Or at least put me into a sugar coma until Easter.

The recipe comes from a blog I just started following, Butter Me Up Brooklyn. This is the first time I’ve baked anything from this blog but I’m going to go out on a limb here and call her a COOKIE GURU. Because seriously, these things are fantastic. I mean really, truly fabulous. And very, very easy.

You start by browning butter. Throw in some brown sugar, vanilla, espresso powder, and an egg yolk. Fold in flour, baking powder and soda, roll out balls of dough, and bake. You don’t even need your mixer!

Eight to nine minutes later you have a completely unassuming but absolutely great dessert. It’s wonderful with coffee, vanilla ice cream, and as a midnight snack. These cookies will make you forget about your frozen toes and lull you into a state of pure bliss. They are Prozac in cookie form. So don’t forget to take a dose!