peanut butter pecan biscotti

Monday was yet another one of my glorious “flex days.”  And, you know, it’s strange.  I work an extra hour every day to earn my every-other-Monday off, and yet I still feel like I’m getting away with something when I’m luxuriating in my comfy bed, hitting the snooze button at 5, 5:30, 6, 6:30, etc., and generally lazing about.

This past Monday was really pretty lovely, so far as the weather went, so I decided to go for my first outdoor run in, oh, about two months.  And then I made Joy the Baker’s Peanut Butter Pecan Biscotti.  You know, to even things out a bit.

This was officially my first shot at biscotti.  The “you bake it twice” factor always seemed fussy to me, and based on the store bought biscotti I’ve tried, I figured that it tasted just fine in its packaged form and couldn’t possibly be that much better when it’s baked fresh.

I’m not sure I could’ve been more wrong.  Fresh biscotti is chewy! (The types I had always enjoyed were dry, crumbly, and hard and absolutely had to be dipped in coffee or tea before ingesting.)  And flavorful!  And amazing.  Just assemble your few, standard ingredients, mix and stir them, create two loaves out of the dough, bake them once, slice ’em up, and bake them again.  Easy.  And worth it.

Leave a comment