rice pudding for modern men and women

Friends, in the hustle and bustle of our busy lives, how often do we take a moment to do the things we love?  Those little things that make us happy (taking walks, reading books, relaxing with friends) are so often put on the back burner so that the “important” stuff (work and other nasty commitments, most likely) can take precedence.   The other day I found a recipe on the side of my instant rice box for rice pudding.  I adore rice pudding, but my first thought was — gosh, rice pudding takes a while to make.  Do I really have the time to commit to making a dessert when I could be, I don’t know, investigating the space-time continuum?

Thank goodness I got over that crazy notion and got to making pudding.  In the interest of being honest with you, I will admit that there were a few bumps in the road to rice pudding awesomeness.  First, I added the milk all at once.  Then I made one of the biggest “no-nos” in the cooking world, which is to say I walked away from a boiling pot.  Dumb, right?  And not only was it a boiling pot, it was a boiling pot of milk (which, in my experience, is infamous for looking like nothing’s going on and then suddenly boiling out of control).

Yet, this pudding persevered.  It was creamy and sweet, and the rice was tender but not mushy (even after all it had been through).  Nate didn’t love the cinnamon, but I was a huge fan.  So ditch the container of Kozy Shack, and make your own delicious rice pudding today.

Instant Rice Pudding (as transcribed from the side of the Harris Teeter Instant White Rice box)

Serves 4

1 cup instant long grain white rice

2 1/2 cups milk

1/4 tsp. salt

1/4 tsp. cinnamon

1/4 tsp. nutmeg

1/2 cup sugar

1/4 cup raisins (we omitted these)

2 eggs, slightly beaten

1/2 tsp. vanilla

In a saucepan, combine rice, 2 cups milk, salt, cinnamon, nutmeg, sugar and raisins.  Bring to a rolling boil, stirring constantly.

Reduce heat; boil slowly 10 minutes, stirring occasionally.

Mix eggs with remaining milk.  Slowly add to hot mixture, stirring vigorously with a fork.

Cook over medium heat until thickened.  Add vanilla and let cool for 10 minutes.