mustard-soy glazed salmon with brown sugar and ginger

You know that saying, “When life gives you lemons, make lemonade”?  Well, the other day, life totally gave me lemons. And not the metaphorical kind. I literally found a bag of zested lemons in our freezer. (No, I don’t clean out our freezer very often–why do you ask?)

And while it was kinda fun finding a hidden ziplock of icy tartness, it seriously did me no good. I was scouring the freezer in a last ditch effort to find SOMETHING to make for dinner, and lemons weren’t going to do the trick.

So off to Harris Teeter I went, returning with two very large salmon filets and only a vague idea of what to do with them. Lucky for me, my trusty Not Your Mother’s Weeknight Cooking came to the rescue with Mustard-Soy Glazed Salmon with Brown Sugar and Ginger.

All you need are a few common ingredients: soy sauce, Dijon mustard, ground ginger, Worcestershire sauce, garlic, brown sugar and butter. Make a sauce, slap it on the salmon, sprinkle it with sugar and butter, bake it for 15 minutes, and enjoy the heck out of it.

Seriously, if I had known cooking salmon could be this easy and this yummy, I would’ve made it many, many times, instead of always relying on my old stand-bys of chicken, turkey, and beef. Sometimes even this old cook can learn new tricks. 🙂

One response

Leave a Reply

