cookie plate 2012

Cookie Plate

There are few things that make me happier than an overflowing cookie plate. Chocolate chip stacked next to gingerbread, crowding out the brownies, and eclipsing the snickerdoodles–well, that sight brings a happy little tear to my eye. The cookie plate is Christmas’s cornucopia and a place where abundance isn’t just preferred, it’s expected.

In that spirit, I give you my Cookie Plate 2012. (Be sure to check out Cookie Plate 2010 and Cookie Plate 2011, too!) This year I decided to trot out two crowd-favorites from previous plates, the Lime Melt-Aways and the Double Ginger Cookies. And then, for a little variety, I went with Chocolate Crinkles (made from the boxed Devil’s Food cake mix! Seriously!) and Smitten Kitchen’s ridiculously easy and delicious Brown Butter Rice Krispie Treats.

I can tell you that each and every one of these cookies certainly made my taste buds jingle-jangle with joy. But, in case that isn’t enough proof, shortly after trotting these out at my office, the once-overflowing plate was reduced to crumbs. (I think they call that Exhibit B in legal-speak.)

And with that, I will be taking a brief blog break until after Christmas. The hubby, cat and I wish you all a very happy and relaxing holiday!

Leave a Reply

