shaved asparagus pizza

Not that long ago, I met a friend for Happy Hour at a local bar. It was a pretty classy joint, so I was surprised when I saw the “shots girls” walking around the place, with their trays of booze samples and microscopic shorts.

They stopped where we were sitting and offered us their wares: shots of Pinnacle Whipped Vodka (i.e. vodka that tastes like whipped cream).  Isn’t science amazing? I’m so glad that lab is churning out flavored vodka and not wasting time on something worthless, like the cure for cancer or eye shadow that doesn’t crease.

Because I did a shot (and didn’t vomit, I guess), I got a free t-shirt. Wanna see it?

Yup. “I got whipped in DC.”

When I got home, Nate was all like, “That’ll be a good dust rag,” and frankly I was a little shocked that he didn’t see the shirt’s potential. So I made a list of places I could wear it:

-The grocery store

-Church picnics

-Casual Fridays

-Rodeos

-Babysitting my friend’s kids

The list is endless, really.

In fact, I’ve already worn it while making this Shaved Asparagus Pizza from Annie’s Eats. (Granted, it didn’t get the air time I’d like, but it did make quite the statement in my kitchen.)

I started with my favorite pizza crust from King Arthur Flour (though you could certainly follow Annie’s suggestion in her recipe). Then I went to town with the mozzarella, Boursin garlic cheese, and shaved asparagus. It’s a really simple combination of flavors, but the results are out of this world.

We liked it so much, that we actually made the pizza TWICE this week. That’s a record in this condo.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

