birthday double chocolate zucchini bread

“It’s a zucchini the size of a baby,” my friend told me.  She handed me the Anthropologie bag that I had been eyeing earlier, wondering what she had bought.

Inside was a zucchini that was definitely the size of a baby.  On steroids.

“Next year, I’m only planting two zucchini plants, because this is insane.”

I nodded in agreement, but selfishly, I hoped she’d keep them up.  And that I’d continue to be a recipient of this squashy windfall.

“You know,” she continued, “King Arthur Flour just posted a recipe for Double Chocolate Zucchini Bread.”  And just like that, my birthday baking project was chosen for me.

The recipe calls for two cups of grated zucchini.  My monster squash would’ve made 10 cups, so I used the remaining veg to make Parmesan Zucchini as a side dish for last night’s dinner (you didn’t think I would make dinner on my BIRTHDAY, did you?).  The zucchini adds absolutely no flavor to the bread, only tons of moisture.

What you really taste with this dessert is the yummy, yummy chocolate.  I used my Godiva baking cocoa and Godiva dark chocolate chips to make the whole thing feel very adult and extra special.  If I had self control, I would’ve let it cool before slicing, but being implusive AND the birthday girl, I just dove right in.

Since it’s a most special day, I’ve ruled that this is not just a dessert bread, but a breakfast, lunch, dinner, and snack bread as well.  And as such, I will continue to eat this ’round the clock.  In fact, if you’ll excuse me, it’s officially Double Chocolate Zucchini Bread snack time and I’d hate to be late.

Happy Wednesday!

Leave a Reply

