cake of the month, part 12: peach-blueberry ice cream pie

Have you ever noticed that, though vacation is probably the greatest thing ever invented (right up there with non-stick pans and indoor plumbing), the work that you know is building up back at the office can *almost* make you wish you hadn’t stepped away from your desk? Not only have I experienced this phenomena many times before, I’m in the throes of it right now.

When we were abroad, I slept in. I sampled multiple local pastries DAILY. The hardest decision I had to make was at what time to switch from coffee to beer. And all the while my work inbox kept growing and growing and growing.

I came back to over 200 emails. That might not be a lot for you, but it certainly made me choke on my morning coffee. Thus, the remainder of my first week back was weeding through the FYI-type missives and the OH EM GEE PLEASE READ ME AND RESPOND NOW emails (which sadly out-numbered the FYIs).

By last Friday, I had pretty much gotten my butt back in gear. And was immensely grateful to have a long weekend to relax yet again. So I thought, what better way to celebrate my regained relaxation than with ice cream?

Lucky for moi, Bon Appetit dedicated a whole section in its June 2012 issue to that creamy-yet-refreshing dessert, and it’s is where I found this wicked-good recipe for Peach-Blueberry Ice Cream Pie.

There are a number of “work on this and then let it set for hours”-type steps in this recipe, but please don’t let it deter you. Hang in there, and you’re rewarded with a sweet, tart, creamy, spicy treat that can cool down the hottest summer day (or night!).

Full disclosure: I didn’t add the blueberry sauce in my photo, but you had better believe I drizzled a generous helping onto each slice before I served it.  It is not to be missed!

Check out the other Cakes of the Month!

June

July

August

September

October

November

January

February

March (Cake the First)

March (Make-up Cake)

April

Leave a Reply

