chubby hubby bars

Nothing will make you feel more out of shape than trying to keep up with two elementary school-aged children on a jungle gym.

Yes, I speak from experience.

Last weekend, my brother, sister-in-law, and niece and nephew dropped by my parents’ house on their way to NYC.  After a few hours inside, I had the brilliant idea to go to my old elementary school and expel some energy on the playground.  Fun for the kids and a nice chance for nostalgia for me.  Win-win.

We chose to check out the smaller playground, which seemed manageable for a totally coordinated adult like myself.  I mean, I don’t like to brag, but I scaled quite a few monkey bars in my day, and could flip backwards on the stand-alone horizontal bar like a champion.  I figured I could show the kids a few pointers and look like a rock star.

It took maybe five seconds for me to realize that, though I am the height of most ten-year-old children (the ones that have gone through growth-spurts, to be fair), I can no longer impress other kids on the jungle gym like one. This epiphany occurred while I was hanging motionless from the monkey bars, trying to remember how I hooked my feet to do a trick I used to love.  While I hung there like a heavily medicated sloth, my niece was swinging effortlessly from ropes and scaling the playground like a monkey.  My jealousy was palapable.

So I went home and made Cookies and Cups’ Chubby Hubby Bars, which are filled with pretzels, mini peanut butter cups, chocolate and caramel.  And I ate two.  Because there are upsides to being a grown-up, even if riding a teeter-totter gives you vertigo.

Leave a Reply

