cake of the month, part 10: the double chocolate make-up cake

In my mind, I’m still 18 years old. In reality, I’m 18+8.

I try to do things befitting an 18+8-year-old.  I really do.  I have a mortgage.  I bring clothes to the dry cleaner.  I read the Washington Post.  I watch documentaries.

And yet, I still want to own anything covered in glitter.  I buy lip gloss that smells like cupcakes.  I have to remind myself yearly that I’m too old for the Warped Tour.  I can quote entire scenes from The Simpsons.

Baking a giant chocolate cake makes me feel 18, when my culinary tastes centered exclusively around chocolate and frosting.  Back then, I didn’t care about presentation or technique.  When I wanted dessert, I wanted what all teenagers desire time in memoriam: a cake that tasted like a Hershey’s bar and gave me an epic sugar high.  So, last weekend, I gave in to my 18-year-old self and whipped up Chocolate Mayonnaise Cake from Serious Eats.  Then I slathered it with King Arthur Flour’s Super Simple Chocolate Frosting.  Then I sprinkled it with colorful sprinkles for good measure.

This cake was so good, so moist, so AWESOME, that both my 18- and 18+8-year-old selves were thrilled.  I know this because they both had a slice (but only the 18+8-year-old got a wicked sugar headache).  Figures.

Check out the other Cakes of the Month!

June

July

August

September

October

November

January

February

March (Cake the First)

One response

  1. Pingback: cake of the month, part 11: salted caramel cheesecake pie |

Leave a Reply

