prosciutto and olive oil flatbread

Sunday is my typical grocery shopping day.  I prefer the morning, but will take the afternoon, if I have to.  Just not the evening–that’s pajama time, and I refuse to subject my neighbors to my oversized sweatshirt (borrowed from Nate) and threadbare flannel pants.  Yikes.  Anywho…

I prefer Sunday shopping because I feel like it’s the only day I can really embrace the “Sunday driver” inside of me.  Not out on the open road, of course.  In the DC-area, you’ll be run off the road if you dawdle or hesitate for even a moment behind the wheel.  You see, my inner “Sunday driver” comes out when I’m behind the four tiny wheels of a shopping cart, wandering lazily down the aisles of our local grocery store.

I love those trips.  Nowhere else to be, nothing else to do, I take my time reading labels, admiring displays, and getting lost in the “seasonal” aisle.  Today I walked away with a pack of pink Peeps, a new nail polish, and a cheese that comes from Norway called Ski Queen (not for fondue, to my surprise).  I also impulse-bought a pack of prosciutto, knowing that I’d find a good use for it back at Casa de Condo.

When I got home, I broke out my trusty Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day, hankering to make another loaf of Rosemary Focaccia.  Serendipitously (that’s a word I don’t use nearly enough), just a few pages away from my fav focaccia recipe was a recipe for Prosciutto and Olive Oil Flatbread.  “Self,” I thought, “It would be a crime to not make this bread.”  So I got right to it.

I started using steps 1-3 from this site (this gets you the basic olive oil dough).  Once your dough has risen for 2 hours, cut off a one-pound piece and shape it into a ball (using a little flour to keep it from sticking to you).  Place this ball on a pizza peel sprinkled with cornmeal.  Roll the ball out to a 1/2 inch thickness using a rolling pin or your hands.

Sprinkle the dough with 1/4 teaspoon dried rosemary and layer 2 ounces of sliced prosciutto (cut into 1-inch squares) on top. Roll the dough back into a ball, and roll out again to a thickness of approximately 1 inch.  Allow the dough to rest on the cornmeal-sprinkled pizza peel for 20 minutes (40 minutes, if using refrigerated dough).

Twenty minutes prior to baking, preheat the oven to 400 degrees with a baking stone placed near the middle of the oven (so that it can get nice and hot).  Place an empty broiler tray on a rack in the lower third of the oven.

Just before baking, brush the top of the bread with a cornstarch wash (1/2 teaspoon cornstarch, mixed with a few drops of water to form a paste, then incorporated with 1/2 cup of water and boiled for 1 minute in the microwave).  Then slash a cross across the top of the loaf using a serrated bread knife.

Using your pizza peel, slide the loaf onto the preheated baking stone and add 1 cup of hot water to the broiler tray.  Bake for 25 minutes, until browned and firm.

Let cool on a wire rack before serving.

I didn’t know what to expect from this bread, but the prosciutto adds a lovely saltiness to the loaf and the rosemary is its perfect companion.  The result is something amazingly delicious and worth replicating over and over again (maybe next time with some Parmesan thrown into the mix).

Happy Baking!

One response

  1. Pingback: champion cheesy sandwich loaf |

Leave a Reply

