cake of the month, part 7: banana cream pie

Confession 1: This should’ve been my eighth Cake of the Month post.  I know you’ve been keeping count.  I’ll get back to that.

Confession Numero Dos: Banana Cream Pie isn’t technically a cake.  I’ll address that, too.

But first, how are you???  It’s been a week, but it feels like an eternity.  At least it does to me.  Which leads me to believe I’m actually a cat, living in cat years, which would explain the flying-by of time (and the desire to curl up and sleep all day on a sunny patch of carpet).  Which then makes me wonder why the heck the government hired a cat.  Oh well, I guess they have their reasons.

But back to the COTM delay: I did make a cake in December.  A pretty white cake with pomegranate swirls and cream cheese frosting.  It was for Nate’s birthday and it was quite yummy.  I even wrote a post about said cake.  And then promptly deleted the photos from my camera before downloading them to my computer.  I’d be mad, but I can hardly hold my cat-self accountable for such silly mistakes.  I probably got distracted by a shiny object.

Now, to address my second point: I know that Banana Cream Pie isn’t a cake.  But can we just call it one today?  Just for this post?  Because it took time (but not too much time), was fancy without being fussy, and–most importantly–was awesome.

The entire recipe is from King Arthur Flour’s Baker’s Companion, perhaps the best book EVER for bakers.  Seriously.  The.  Best.

To get started, follow KAF’s crust instructions in their Chocolate Cream Pie recipe, steps 1-10.  Once your crust is blind-baked, arrange slices from two medium-sized bananas along the inside of the crust.

To make the Pastry Cream filling, assemble the following ingredients:

-1/2 cup sugar

-2 TBSP all-purpose flour

-1 TBSP plus 1 tsp cornstarch

-1/2 tsp salt

-2 large eggs

-2 cups milk

-6 TBSP butter, softened

-1/2 tsp vanilla extract

Whisk the sugar, flour, cornstarch, salt and eggs together.  In a medium-sized saucepan, bring milk to a boil.  Add the hot milk to the egg mixture gradually, whisking continually.  Pour the liquid back into the saucepan and return to the heat to bring back to a boil. The mixture will thicken quickly, so whisk continually.  As soon as the pastry cream begins to boil in the center, take it off the heat and add the butter and vanilla, stirring until combined.

Congrats! You’ve made pastry cream!  Pour this over your prepared crust, smooth the surface, cover with plastic wrap, and refrigerate until chilled.

Whipped Topping:

-1 cup heavy cream

-1 tsp vanilla extract

-1/4 cup confectioners’ sugar

Whip the heavy cream and vanilla together until thick.  Sprinkle confectioners’ sugar and whip until the cream holds its shape.  Spoon over top of the chilled pie and ENJOY!!!

Check out the other Cakes of the Month!

June

July

August

September

October

November

3 responses

  1. Pingback: cake of the month, part 8: fudge-glazed creamy peanut butter cake |

Leave a Reply

