chicken mushroom and wild rice soup

Lately I’ve felt a special kinship with Mother Nature.  Not because I like the outdoors.  No, there’s dirt and leaves and all other sorts of nasty things out there.  And not because I’m one of those “every creature great and small” types.  Bears freak me out, bugs freak me out, pretty much any animal other than Remy the Great freaks me out. Gah.

I’ve been feeling a special kinship with Mother Nature recently because I think she might be a little off her rocker, and I can relate to that.  Case in point: Saturday, it was 68 degrees in the DC area.  Today, it was 40 degrees and snowed.  Tomorrow, according to the weathermen, will be in the mid-50s.  Only a temperamental, crazy you-know-what has those sorts of mood swings within the span of a week.  I respect that, and fear it just a little bit.

When Mother Nature, or anything/anyone else for that matter, is sending you through the ringer, soup tends to be the perfect antidote.  Especially soup of the chicken variety.  Like this recipe for Chicken Shiitake and Wild Rice Soup from the incomparable Skinny Taste.

Folks, I really can’t recommend this recipe enough.  It’s so flavorful and extremely comforting.  Better still, you won’t even care what Mother Nature is doling out when you have a big bowl of this soup in front of you.

I made a few adjustments and added a few clarifications, which I’m sharing below.  If you want to stick with the original, definitely check out the link above.  Either way, you can’t go wrong.

Chicken Mushroom and Wild Rice Soup

  • 1 tbsp butter
  • 1 small onion, chopped
  • 1 tbsp flour
  • 8 cups (64 oz) fat free, low sodium chicken broth
  • 1 cup water
  • 2 chopped carrots (I used about a cup of frozen sliced carrots)
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced
  • 2 celery stalks, with leaves, chopped
  • 6 skinless, boneless chicken thighs
  • 6 oz long grain rice and wild rice combo (I used Harris Teeter brand with “Herb Seasoning”)
  • 4 oz mushrooms, sliced (I used pre-sliced button mushrooms)
  • salt and fresh pepper
Melt butter in a large pot on medium heat, add onion and sauté until softened not browned, about 3-4 minutes. Add flour and sauté another minute.Add chicken broth, water, carrots, garlic, celery, and chicken thighs, cover and simmer 20 minutes. Addwild rice mix along with its seasoning packet, mushrooms, salt and pepper to taste and simmer on low, covered for 25 minutes, stirring occasionally.Remove chicken from pot and shred with two forks, return to pot, adjust salt and pepper to taste and serve.

Leave a Reply

