pizza party

Happy New Year, friends!

Two thousand twelve.  Wow.  I know it’s totally arbitrary to say, “January 1 means everything starts anew”–obviously, every day is a fresh start.  But something feels so great about putting a whole year behind you, especially if the year was a tough one.  I say, bring on 2012.  I’m ready.

Here at Casa de Condo, we rang in the new year with some great friends and way too much food (you know, if that’s possible). We gorged on appetizers and sampled all sorts of drinks, and for dinner, I made pizza.  But not just any pizza.  Chicken Ranch pizza and Spinach Mushroom pizza.  Both inspired by the lovely blog, Annie’s Eats, with the crust recipe taken from King Arthur Flour’s Baker’s Companion.

Have you ever made pizza from scratch?  This was my first try, and I was terrified.  What if the dough didn’t rise?  What if I burned my pizza?  What if it just didn’t taste good?  So much pressure!

Happily, I was worried for nothing (as is usually the case, right?).  The spinach mushroom was cheesy, garlicy and absolutely lovely.  The chicken ranch pizza took a little more prep, but was completely amazing.  Cheddar and mozzarella cheeses mingled with the Ranch dressing, chicken, green onions, and tomatoes, and the taste was fantastic.  The crust was great, too, and easy, since I opted for the “make ahead” option.

So if you, too, have been hesitating to try homemade pizza, hesitate no more.  It’s a new year–let’s make it a memorable one!

One response

Leave a Reply

