broccoli salad with raisins and bacon

Sometimes I’m accused of being a nerd.  Usually the accuser is me.

You see, I embrace my inner dorkiness.  I like The Twilight Zone.  I follow websites dedicated to errors in English usage.  I have a Simpsons quote for every  occasion.  And sometimes I start sentences with, “If this were a movie instead of real life…”

Incredibly.  Huge.  Dork.

Which may also explain my love for this salad.  I mean, what’s dorkier than broccoli?  Lima beans, maybe.  Or brussel sprouts.  But broccoli is way up there.

So, since we’ve been friends since way, way back, could you just trust me on this one?  This salad is really delicious and I’ve made more than a few broccoli converts with this recipe.

You start by chopping the florets off of a few heads of broccoli.  Mix them with bacon bits and raisins.  Toss the whole she-bang with the mayonnaise-red wine vinegar-sugar dressing, let it sit for an hour, then enjoy.  Heartily.

This is a really great side for a big meal.  No one at your dinner table will be disappointed.

Broccoli Salad with Raisins and Bacon

  • 3 to 4 heads broccoli, trimmed
  • 1/2 lb. bacon, cooked and crumbled
  • 1 cup raisins
  • 2 cups mayonnaise
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 4 Tablespoons red wine vinegar

Combine trimmed broccoli, bacon, and raisins in a serving bowl.  Whisk together the mayonnaise, sugar, and red wine vinegar.  Pour over salad (start with half–this makes A LOT of dressing) and toss about 1 hour before serving.

Leave a Reply

