holiday pumpkin bread

Andddddd I’m back.  The last time we chatted, ’twas the night before Thanksgiving and I was in baking/cooking hyper-drive.  I ended up working well into the night on cakes, broccoli salad, and candied pecans, all of which I’ll be sharing with you soon (the recipes are definitely keepers).  But today I want to share something I whipped up last night on a whim.  A treat that was almost an after thought.   A recipe for Holiday Pumpkin Bread from King Arthur Flour.

Now, if you aren’t familiar with King Arthur Flour’s wonderful website AND blog, then hop over there right now (but make sure you come back). Lovely, right?  I just can’t get enough of it and have been known to spend inordinate amounts of time oohing and ahhing over the beautiful photos.  But, I have to give full credit to my cousin’s amigo, Andrew, for pointing me in the direction of this particular recipe.   We were catching up the Friday after Thanksgiving, and he casually mentioned that he had made this amazing pumpkin bread that was a hit at the holiday table.

I immediately assumed he was talking about a sweet bread (like banana bread or zucchini bread), but after a little Googling, I realized he had made a more standard, dinner table-type loaf.  And being a sucker for fresh baked bread, I picked up the few ingredients I didn’t have on hand and set to work.  Though “work” really is an overstatement.  You toss the bread ingredients in a bowl (including the yeast–since it’s rapid rise, no proofing is necessary), knead them with your hands or stand mixer, and then let the sticky dough rise in a lightly oiled bowl.

Take your dough and braid it according to the directions, then create a dough-wreath in the center of a lightly greased cake pan.  Let it rise one more time and then bake it.  Simple.

I halved the recipe, because we certainly don’t need two enticing bread loaves around this house right after a major eating holiday, and the loaf came out beautifully (bake it for slightly less than the prescribed 30 minutes, if you’re doing just one loaf like me).  The flavor is lightly pumpkin-y, and even Nater Nater Pumpkin Hater enjoyed a few slices for breakfast this morning.  I consider that a real holiday miracle.

2 responses

  1. Pingback: pumpkin gooey cake |

  2. Pingback: champion cheesy sandwich loaf |

Leave a Reply

