pork chops with spinach and shallots

Does anyone else feel like the days before a holiday drag on, and on, and on, and on, and…

This Monday, for example, was the longest day ever.  Tuesday was twice as long as that.  And Wednesday…well, don’t get me started.  I was positive that I worked 36 hours today, except that the sun didn’t set and my desk calendar kept assuring me that, nope, it’s still just November 23.  There could be some sort of conspiracy going on, but I’m too busy to figure it out.  Because tomorrow is Thanksgiving, and I have baking to do!

But even before one of the best food holidays of the year, a gal and her husband still need to eat a sensible dinner.  Preferably one that isn’t too heavy, and the quicker the better.

So, I went to the trusty interwebs, to one of my new favorite sites, Skinny Taste.  She had a recipe for pork chops, shallots, and mushrooms that looked awesome.  But I didn’t have mushrooms.   What I did have was frozen, chopped spinach, so I did a wee bit of subbing, and came up with pork chops with spinach and shallots.  And I have to admit, I’m pretty impressed.

The pork chops were so juicy.  The spinach was best flavor buddies with the shallots, and were a fantastic stand in for the mushrooms.

I tweaked the recipe a bit, so I’m sharing it down below.  But if shallots and mushrooms are right up your alley, then I’m sure the original recipe will be just as delicious.

Pork Chops with Spinach and Shallots
Adapted from Pork Chops with Mushrooms and Shallots, Skinny Taste

-1 tsp butter

-4 pork chops (boneless), 1 inch thick

-1 tsp kosher salt

-fresh ground pepper

-1 shallot, finely chopped

-3/4 cup chicken stock

-10 oz pkg of frozen, chopped spinach, cooked following microwave directions on the box

-1 tbsp dijon mustard

In a large frying pan, head butter over medium-low heat.  Season chops with salt and pepper.  Once the butter has melted in the pan, raise the heat to medium and sauté the pork chops for 7 minutes.  Turn and cook until the chops are browned and done to medium, about 7 minutes longer.  Remove chops to a plate and tent the plate with tinfoil.

Add shallots to the pan and cook, stirring until soft, about 3 minutes.  Add the stock to deglaze the pan, stir in the mustard, then add the spinach.  Season with fresh pepper and cook for about 3 minutes.  Add the chops back to the pan for an additional five minutes, until thermometer in the center of the chop reads 160 degrees.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

