madelines

Unfortunately for my husband, I recently found out that I’m (very) distantly related to Princess Kate Middleton.

I say unfortunately because he has now spent the past few weeks listening to me babble on about tiaras, etiquette, fascinators, and how she seems so in love with William.  Which I’d have to say,even if I didn’t think so.  I mean, the Prince is family now.

I guess you could say I’m taking my new relation to royalty in stride.  I’ve got the cupped-hand-pivoting-on-the-wrist wave down.  My accent is a solid 70% British, with about 20% accidental slips into Australian, and 10% slips into Jamaican, mon.  And I’m even starting to understand the rules of cricket.

All of these changes will ensure that when (not “if”) I meet the Princess, she will be overjoyed to know that I am her kin.  Then she will invite me to a sleepover at the royal palace, and we’ll paint each other’s nails and play tricks on the Queen Mum.  Pip pip cheerio, etc.

In the meantime, I’m embracing the British tradition of afternoon tea, complete with “biscuits” (cookies).  Specifically, Madelines.

Part cookie, part cake, Madelines are a fluffy, buttery shortbread.  Shaped like a seashell (I don’t totally understand that part, but I go with it).  Add lemon or orange zest for a bright flavor, or some almond extract for a more warm and homey touch.  Or leave them plain.  It’s like trying to choose the prettiest crown jewel–there is no right or wrong answer.

Leave a Reply

