chicken with creamy mushrooms and peas

I went to the mall the other day. Which, if you know me, is no small feat.

Namely because I hate the mall.  With a passion.

Yes, it contains pretty jars of glittery eye shadow and tubes of lotion that smell like baked goods and shoes out the wazoo.  Yes, you can try everything on BEFORE buying, instead of having to hope for the best when you’re flip-flopping between ordering the skinny jeans and the slightly-less-skinny jeans.  And, yes, you get to go home and play with your goodies right away–no waiting for the UPS guy to arrive.

But there are people there.  And not your normal, run of the mill people.  No, these are frantic people.  Harried people.  People with screaming babies covered in food court ice cream. People who hoard a dressing room for an hour, using the one sales clerk as their personal shopper.  People who work at kiosks and follow you around the mall shouting, “Ma’am, may I ask you a question?” NO, you may not.

When I was younger, I could spend all day in a mall.  Nowadays, I can typically stand somewhere in the vicinity of 30 minutes before I run screaming.  Nate has gotten used to this and is no longer disturbed by my 100 meter dash-like shopping trips.

But I digress.  I went to the mall the other day and left feeling a hundred years older.  So I went home, made the Food Network’s Chicken with Creamy Mushrooms and Peas (a phenomenally yummy and easy dinner), and felt 100 percent better and one hundred years younger.  Amazing what food can do, huh?

I mean, this dinner is as easy as pie without nearly the number of calories.  The chicken is crispy and flavorful, and you’ll be doing the happy tummy dance (a little something I invented that includes a combination of rubbing your belly and shaking your money maker) with every chicken/pea/mushroom bite.

Don’t you want to have a happy tummy dance moment?  Call it an early Christmas present from yours truly.

4 responses

  1. I made this last night for dinner (thank you for the inspiration — I needed a kick in the pants to start cooking well again). Yum. I am not sure that “not as many calories as pie” means what you think it means (think “heavy cream”). But it sure was good. Made it with LOTS of peas and mushrooms and it was fantastic. Received a 4.5 out of 5 for this meal. GEORGE loved it. Tonight I plan to make chicken paninis with this artichoke stuff that I got on sale at Williams-Sonoma. Thanks much for your blog! You are AWESOME! (YiaYia Sue was saying how she often uses your blog for inspiration for dinners). Easy, quick, yummy, and lots of veggies. Yeah Katie!

  2. Awesome. Two slices of regular old bread (Arnold 12 Grain in our household). A chicken breast — really, half of one. A spoonful of artichoke stuff from which which (bought on sale for $3.00 instead of the regular price of $13.00 at Williams Sonoma). A handful of Spinach. Put it in the panini press and PRESTO! One awesome sandwich. Yummmmmm.

Leave a Reply

