chicken rollatini with zucchini, mozzarella, and parmesan

Has anyone else noticed that the daylight hours have gone from “abundant” to “zilch”?

Now, before you let out a resounding, “DUH,” let me explain.  I get that starting with the summer solstice, the days start getting incrementally shorter.  But I honestly didn’t notice the difference until this week.

I mean, I’m waking up in darkness.  I coming home in darkness.  And that isn’t the worst of it. All of this pitch-blackness means I spend the first four hours of my work day trying to wake up.  Which isn’t a pretty sight.  Instead of a fresh-faced youth, my coworkers have to contend with a squinting, grumbling, frowning gremlin.

My already-waning energy levels only decline throughout the day, leaving me with barely enough strength to press the buttons on the remote by the time I arrive home.  Meaning a complex dinner is almost always out of the question, leaving me to consider only the simplest concoctions in my repertoire as dinner options.

Thus, Chicken Rollatini with Zucchini, Mozzarella, and Parmesan.  Long name, short prep, tasty (and pretty!) results.  Think the yumminess of chicken cordon bleu without the ham (and added calories).  Wonderful.

For this recipe and other lovely, healthy dinner ideas, check out SkinnyTaste.com.

Leave a Reply

