roasted pumpkin seeds

As a little girl, I loved scary stories.

In retrospect, I think it all started with a book of ghost stories my friend, Jenny, smuggled in to our kindergarten classroom.  The cover had a black-and-white sketch of a ghoul with hollow eyes, and inside was a story about a woman whose head was kept on with a thin, satin ribbon (spoiler alert: her head falls off when her husband undoes her ribbon one night after she’s fallen asleep).

At home, the supernatural kick continued thanks to my Dad, the consummate story teller.  He’d regale me with legends about ghosts that haunted local homes, and I’d listen happily and then go to bed without a second thought about things that go bump in the night.

And then I grew up.  And started watching the news.  And quickly learned that, uh, scary stuff isn’t as implausible as it once seemed.

Today, I am a total wimp.  I cannot for the life of me watch scary movies.  Just listening to The Walking Dead as I avert my eyes and read a book gives me chills.  And don’t get me started on those shows where “real life” people talk about their experiences with the “spirit world.”  The Unsolved Mysteries theme song alone can keep me up all night.

I have officially gone from the girl who embraced all the creepiness that Halloween had to offer to a woman that prefers Young Frankenstein to The Shining and Shaun of the Dead to Silence of the Lambs.

Nowadays, the only redeeming parts about Halloween are the kiddies in their cute costumes and the pumpkin carving.  I can always get behind some pumpkin carving.  And, of course, the resulting snack of roasted pumpkin seeds.

So after Nate and I finished carving the pumpkin last night (Nate chose the “Portal” theme), I laid the seeds out to dry on a baking sheet covered in parchment paper.

This afternoon, I drizzled two tablespoons of melted butter over top of the seeds, then sprinkled them with two tablespoons of granulated sugar and a 1/4 teaspoon of cinnamon.

Fifteen minutes later, I had a tray of roasted pumpkin seeds that tasted like crunchy bits of caramel-coated popcorn.  YUM.

HAPPY HALLOWEEN!!!!

Leave a Reply

