pumpkin cupcakes with pumpkin spiced cream cheese icing

I am the princess of discovering something five years after the rest of the general population and discussing it ad nauseum with people who were big fans…half a decade ago.  I am the princess because I earned this trait honestly from the king (i.e. my Dad).

Case in point, Nate and I just started watching The Tudors on Netflix streaming.  Now, The Tudors made its debut all the way back in 2007, when most normal people interested in that sort of historical drama started watching it.  And the series ended 2010.  Which means it was on the air and beloved by millions for four seasons.  Now, a whole year after the series ended, I am hooked and trying to get unsuspecting colleagues and friends to discuss each and every episode with me.

It goes a little something like this:

“Katie, have you had a chance to look at the agreement I left in your inbox?”

“Agreement, you say?  That reminds me of the agreement King Henry VIII tried to establish with the Spanish.  Boy was that a mess!  Did you see that episode, too?  If you haven’t, you should go home and check it out.  And then we can talk about it every day at lunch.”

“I’d love to except I’m moving to another floor effective tomorrow morning and my doctor just diagnosed me with selective mutism and deafness that will also start tomorrow.  When I’m near your cube.”

Apparently that selective mutism/deafness thing is going around, because I’m finding more and more people I come in contact with are suffering from it.  Sad.

Anyways, another trend that I am way, way behind on is pumpkin cupcakes.  I mean, I’ve had pumpkin bread and pumpkin pie, but I had never heard of pumpkin cupcakes until I came across them on Skinny Taste last week.  And how could I resist Pumpkin Cupcakes with Pumpkin Spiced Cream Cheese Icing?  Impossible.

Being a Skinny Taste creation, there are definitely some calorie-cutting measures involved, like using canned pumpkin instead of oil and eggs in the cupcake batter and 1/3 fat cream cheese in the icing.  But the resulting cupcake is so moist and pumpkiny and the icing so creamy, you’d never guess it was super, duper low in calories and fat.

In fact, these treats are so healthy, you can go through them like Henry VIII went through wives.  Minus the beheadings, of course.

Leave a Reply

