chicken pot pie soup and crusty herb bread

If Fall was a fella, I’d kiss him.  If Fall was a song, I’d play it on loop.  If Fall was a language, I’d be fluent.  I. Love. Fall.

I’m obsessed with the boots, the jeans, the scarves.  I adore the jewel-tone oranges and turquoises and golds.  Most of all, I love the foods of Fall.  The pumpkin breads.  The apple pies.  And the endless soups.

Soups like this one: Chicken Pot Pie Soup from the great, health-focused blog, Skinny Taste.

I mean, have you ever heard of anything more brilliant? Soup that tastes exactly like the filling of a chicken pot pie, minus the biscuity crust.  It’s creamy and homey, but it won’t make you burst the zipper on that great new Missoni dress you bought at Target (if you were one of the 10 lucky humans that got one).  And hey, if you want your delicious soup to be accompanied by a little bit of carb action, you can make Crusty Herb Bread.  Using the recipe I wrote about a few weeks ago for French Boule, just add 1 teaspoon of dried thyme and half a teaspoon of dried rosemary to the water and salt at the beginning of the recipe.  It’s reminiscent of the fabulous foccacia you get at Macaroni Grill without all the added calories.

This soup is great for lunch or dinner and, I believe, is best enjoyed shared with a friend or a honey from a Thermos on a park bench in Vermont, mid-October.  Though I’ve also had it from a pasta bowl in my pajamas in front of the TV with great success.

Leave a Reply

