carnitas and pulled chicken tacos

Happy Belated Labor Day!

What did you do on your day off?  (I hope you had the day off.  If you’re one of the thousands of worker bees, like nurses, vets, and waitresses, that don’t get Labor Day off, my apologies.  I’m sure everyone you encountered yesterday was happy you were there.)

I hosted a shindig at the Condo Far, Far Away with my partner in crime, Nate.  Pandora was set to “Feist Radio”, the sangria was flowing like water, and there was more than enough food to go around.

Food like gucamole, mango salsa, spicy Mexican dip, and corn and bean salad.  Food like Carnitas and Pulled Chicken (from the lovely blog, Good Life Eats).  It was a full-blown fiesta.

You might be wondering what the inspiration for this cuisine was, since I certainly don’t tend to gravitate towards south of the border flavors.  Well, naturally my first Labor Day inclination was burgers.  But knowing that said burgers would need to be made two at a time on our tiny stove-top grill, I thought it would be best to have something that could be prepared the day before and reheated the day of.  Thus the delicious crock-pot Carnitas and Pulled Chicken tacos.  Both recipes were totally new to me, but they were ridiculously simple to pull together and the flavors were absolutely great and perfectly complimented sides of jalapeno slices, sour cream, pepper jack cheese, gucamole, salsa, and wedges of lime.

Better still, going the crock-pot route meant that I could kick my feet up with our guests, pour myself a generous glass of sangria, and have seconds (okay, thirds) of the chips and dips.  Because, hey, it was Labor Day and relaxation was the name of the game.  And who am I to buck tradition?

Leave a Reply

