no knead challah

I have a profound weakness for fresh bread.

I don’t mean, “Oh, is there a loaf straight from the oven sitting out on the counter?  I guess I could try a little slice.”

I’m talking, “Holy heck, fresh bread! Lemme at it! No need to slice it–I’m going to maul it like a ravenous bear just emerging from her cave after a long winter.”

Suffice it to say, this isn’t Nate’s favorite side of my personality.  “Could you leave me a slice?” he’ll ask, as I crouch in the corner like Gollum with the ring.  Then I might toss him a few crumbs, hissing if he gets too close.

It’s just that I love the stuff.  And after getting the hang of making French Boule, I knew I had to try my favorite bread, Challah.  Working from the recipe in my new favorite book, Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day, I quickly and easily pulled together the dough for this delicious treat.

I let the dough sit in the refrigerator overnight (as they suggest in the book), and then got to work the next morning rolling and braiding the dough.  Much less sticky than the Boule dough, the Challah dough was a pleasure to work with.  Better still, you don’t need to bake it on a pizza stone–all that’s required is a simple baking sheet.  And after 25 minutes, you have a beautiful Challah bread ready for toasting, smearing with butter and jam, or eating in chunks pulled from the loaf.

If you’re like me, I’d suggest baking two loaves.  That way, both you and your significant other can indulge without having to share even once. Because sharing is hard.  And sharing fresh Challah is impossible.

5 responses

  1. Pingback: champion cheesy sandwich loaf |

Leave a Reply

