portobello mushroom burgers with cranberry-dijon mustard

I’m sorry I haven’t stopped by in a while.

I know, I know, it goes against the blogger’s code to apologize for a long lapse between posts.  And, I’ll concede that it hasn’t even been more than a week since I last posted.  But mentally, I haven’t been here.  Actually, I haven’t really been here physically either.  Over the past few weeks, I have been in Canada.  I have been in Colorado.  I have been at the beach.  I have been celebrating my birthday (I may be the one weirdo who likes getting older).  I have been sleeping in and going out at night.  I have been a bum, and I’ve been having a great time.

One thing I haven’t been doing too much of is cooking.  Not to say that I’m not inspired, because a whole coffee table covered with lovely brand-new, dog-eared cookbooks begs to differ.  I’ve just been a terrible combination of busy and lazy.

But, hey, a girl and her guy still have to eat, regardless of how frazzled they may be.  So, I made us portobello burgers with cranberry-Dijon mustard from one of my newest cooking companions, Not Your Mother’s Weeknight Cooking.

I love portobello mushrooms–they’re earthy, hearty, and taste great with most anything.  In this case, a tangy/sweet cranberry-Dijon mustard, complete with sauteed shallot and balsamic vinegar.  The whole meal takes about 30 minutes to pull together, and is fantastically filling and delicious.

I could see serving this dinner with a side of baked sweet potato fries or red and green cabbage coleslaw.  Preferably, on a back porch or beside a pool.  And–as always–fireflies are optional, but recommended.

One response

Leave a Reply

