steak with parmesan butter, balsamic glaze, and arugula

I just recently stumbled upon a really great website: DearBlankPleaseBlank.com.  People write in (usually in the “Dear ____, Please ___” format), and some of the entries are really funny.  (Dear Fork, I understand we haven’t spoken since I ran away with dish, but I thought you should know that you have a son.  His name is Spork.  He has your hair.  Sincerely, Spoon, e.g.).

I absolutely love this concept and spent the better part of this evening thinking up a few of my own (nothing tops that Spork entry, though):

Dear Your,

Stop being so possessive.

Sincerely,

You’re

Dear Snooki et al,

Even I think you’ve gone overboard.

Sincerely,

The Color Orange

We didn’t stand a chance.

Sincerely,

Katie’s Hips

I’m not kidding.  This was one of the best dinners I’ve had in a loooong time.  And one of the simplest.  Coincidence?  I hope not–everything delicious should be this easy.

You simply sear a peppered and salted steak (or two in our case, since we wanted leftovers) in a skillet with a little oil.  Keep the drippings and add shallots, balsamic vinegar, and brown sugar, reducing until it’s a glaze (about one minute).  Toss some arugula on your plate, top with Parmesan-buttered steak slices, balsamic glaze, and shredded Parmesan, and squeeze a lemon over top for good measure.

Dear Reader,

Hips don’t lie.

Sincerely,

Katie’s, well, you know…

One response

Leave a Reply

