it’s all about meme

I think we can all agree that I am generally way behind the blogging trends, which explains why, after a year and a half of blogging, I’m only now doing a meme (rhymes with “theme,” though I like to think of it as “Me! Me!”).

This meme is called “Six Things” and will give you a first-hand look into my dark and distorted psyche.  Or something like that.  So here goes:

1) I can’t leave the house in the morning without straightening the decorative pillows on the couch.  They have different colors on each side and I have my distinct preference.

2) I absolutely cannot watch scary movies.  I don’t even like commercials for scary movies.  I know they aren’t real and it’s just actors and sets, but I still find them terrifying.  The scariest movie I can handle is The Sixth Sense, and that’s with a hand near my eyes just in case I need to censor a scene. The most frightening part of that movie for me? Definitely the scene with the scary lady in the kitchen and all the drawers and cabinets left open.  I get the heebie jeebies just thinking about it.

3) On that theme, I was sure our condo was haunted when we first moved in because every morning I woke up to the light above the stove top left on when I KNEW I had turned it off or hadn’t used it the night before.  It took me about a month to realize that the previous owner had put that light on a “night light” setting.  It was the scariest month of my life.

4) Um, I guess the creepiness continues.  So, I may be freaked out by scary movies, but I really enjoy walking around old cemeteries (like Old Burial Hill near my friend Allison in Massachusetts).  I find the epitaphs fascinating and the cemeteries themselves kind of peaceful.  I know.  I’m a freak.

5) My toenails are ALWAYS painted.  My fingernails are ALWAYS kept short.

6) It took me years to learn when certain thoughts should be shared and when others should be kept to myself.  Those thoughts are usually totally inappropriate to most and hilarious to me (and, luckily, Nate–I never have to censor myself around Nate.)  The first gaff I can remember making was when I was five.  My teacher had decided to go gray, and I told her that her hair looked like grandma hair.  I was a regular Jerry Seinfeld at that age–oddly enough, she wasn’t amused.

That’s it.  I mean, I have many, many more quirks, but I don’t want to disturb you any more than necessary.

The next part of this whole meme thing is to hear about my friends’ and fellow bloggers’ “Six Things.”  So,

you’re up!

*I know, the picture has nothing to do with the post.  Just another one of my many quirks.*

2 responses

Leave a Reply

