coconut cupcakes

It’s been two days.  Two stinkin’ days since Easter and my yearly quest to eat as much sugar as humanly possible in a 24-hour period, and I’m still reeling. My brain is racing, my limbs are twitching, and I’m pretty sure I’m blinking double-time.  What’s worse, I’ve stopped sleeping and am apparently only capable of napping in 20 minute intervals.  In short, I am a joy to be around and definitely DO NOT look like an extra from The Walking Dead.

You’d think that after 25 years of this, I would have somehow learned my lesson and ratcheted down my Easter sweets consumption.  But with treats like Ina Garten’s Coconut Cupcakes floating around the interwebs, how could I possibly curb this tradition? Recipes like this one were MADE for folks like myself, who happily throw caution and calorie counts to the wind in the name of delicious desserts.

What makes these cupcakes so special?  Well, where do I possibly begin? They’re buttery and sugary.  They contain a whole bag of flaked, sweetened coconut.  Almond AND vanilla extracts make a strong showing. And that’s just the BATTER.  Cream cheese, butter, more almond and vanilla extracts, and coconut appear in the icing, sealing the delectable deal for coconut fans like myself. And they’re pretty.  That counts for something, right?

If you want to mimic the jittery, fast-paced life that I’ve been living the past two days, test one of these cupcakes just out of the oven, another one when freshly iced, and just one more when you’re eating dessert with the rest of your comrades. Chase it with a handful of jellybeans and a sleeve of Peeps, and you’ll have yourself a sugar high you won’t soon forget.

Leave a Reply

