barcelona burgers

I have a confession to make: I have absolutely no idea what makes these burgers “Barcelonan.” They don’t speak Spanish, I can tell you that much.  They also don’t fight bulls or like tapas.  You see, what drove me to make these lovelies has nothing to do with their ethnicity and everything to do with their melting cheese, juicy burgeriness, and lovely red topping beckoning to me from the pages of Food Network Magazine’s April 2011 issue.

Being only slightly familiar with Spanish food, I’m guessing this burger gets its name from the delicious topping of almonds, roasted red peppers, garlic, and paprika.  Or the addition of Manchego cheese instead of the typical slice of cheddar. And I’d assume that a Spanish person would say that the fact that it’s AWESOME makes it Spanish. These burgers are juicy, flavorful, cheesy–yum.  Yum, yum, yum.

We paired our burgers with brussel sprouts, but I could see them accompanied by Patatas Bravas and maybe a glass of red sangria.  And, for the single ladies out there, a matador.

Leave a Reply

