chipotle pork loin with black bean salad

It all started with an avocado.  A homely, dimpled avocado that I bought the last time I was at Harris Teeter and that I had (until this evening) left languishing in the veggie crisper.

Guacamole is an obvious fate for a lone avocado, but I had bigger dreams for my find.  So I pawed through a few of my food magazines and happily came across a recipe for Chipotle Pork Loin with Black Bean Salad.  I had the pork loin, black beans, and accompanying spices on hand, so I decided to give it a whirl.  (Where did the avocado fit into this dinner equation? As a lovely addition to the black bean salad.)

So with my ingredients at hand, I got to work.  The pork loin comes together by rubbing an easy mix of spices like cumin, ground chipotle peppers, and coriander and some olive oil into the pork and cooking it at 375 for 50 minutes or so.  You start the salad after you pop the meat in the oven, and let it sit and marinate while your main course cooks to perfection. Alone, each component of this meal is delicious (the pork is spicy and juicy and the salad is light and refreshing) and together, they’re just perfect.

Leave a Reply

