curried chicken with ginger and yogurt

Holy guacamole, it’s light outside.  And it’s 7:15 pm.  I endured a fitful and sleepless night, anticipating the agony of waking up at (what only two days ago was) 4 am.  And yet, I feel energized.  There’s a spring in my step.  It’s only 50-something degrees out, but I’ve flung open the patio door.  Clearly we’re on the cusp of something, friends. I believe it’s called “Spring”.

The cherry on top of this lovely day? The pre-made dinner that I happily came home to.  Another glorious crock-pot creation, this recipe for Curried Chicken with Ginger and Yogurt comes from March’s Real Simple Magazine and is outstanding.  And kinda pretty in all its orangey-glory.

It’s Indian food-lite–the curry powder and ginger are prominent flavors, but are nicely balanced with the addition of Greek yogurt at the very end.  Serve over rice and sprinkle with scallions and you have a meal perfect for a Spring evening.  And with this dinner ready-to-eat when you walk in the door, you’ll have plenty of time to smell the roses (or whatever it is you like to do in your spare time–I won’t judge).

4 responses

  1. Hey! Crazy! My friend Mandy recommended this very recipe and I made it last week. She suggested the addition of a little sugar at the end, which I though helped make the flavor a little richer, and I used chopped cilantro instead of scallions, because that’s what I had. Super-awesome stuff. Will certainly make it again!

Leave a Reply

