caramelized onion dip

Some people watch the Super Bowl for the thrill of the game.  Others watch it for the commercials.  I watch the Super Bowl because it gives me the perfect excuse to eat food that, on any other day, I would deem too cheesy, too sugary, or too bacon-y.  In my opinion, what happens/is eaten on Super Bowl Sunday, stays on Super Bowl Sunday.

So, when I was asked to provide a dip for the big event, I knew some amateur-hour mixture of cheese and whatever just wouldn’t cut it.  No, it was time to pull out the big guns.  Which is why I opted for the unparalleled, always-beloved caramelized onion dip.

I first came across this dip when I was trying to find a yummy appetizer for Christmas day.  Found on one of my favorite blogs, The Kitchn, this onion dip stood out to me as something easy to throw together and, with the great accompanying reviews, a sure thing.

In fact, the only thing you have to “worry” about with this recipe is giving yourself enough time to really caramelized the onions.  The recipe says 20-30 minutes, but I find it usually takes somewhere closer to 50 minutes.  And since this app doesn’t come together in a nano-second, I tend to make it the night before, allowing myself plenty of time to get the onions just right and let the flavors meld.

I serve my dip with pita chips, but I’m sure it’s just as delicious in a bread bowl (as the recipe suggests) or even on slices of toasted baguette.  The possibilities are almost endless.

Leave a Reply

