jessie’s muesli

If you had to rank your daily meals from your favorite to your least favorite, where would they fall?  According to a survey of people who happened to be near me while I was pondering this post, breakfast tends to rank pretty high up there.  Which isn’t all that surprising, when you consider America’s obsession with IHOP and Bob Evans.

Strangely(?)/sadly(?) enough, I have no such draw to breakfast.  I mean, I certainly like a nice short stack or Belgian waffle as much as the next gal, but I’m honestly satisfied with my standard bowl of yogurt and giant cuppa coffee before work each morning. It’s a light start to the day and keeps me going till (and ensures that I’m hungry for) lunch.

So you must be wondering why I, a person who is typically “meh” about breakfast, was excited to try this recipe for muesli.  Well, I’ll tell ya:

  1. My cousin, who I adore, created this recipe.  She’s a fantastic cook (the kind that can actually CREATE a delicious meal by loosely following a recipe), so I’m confident in her creations.
  2. I’m trying to learn to embrace breakfast as more than the throw-away meal of the day.
  3. I like saying “muesli.”
And it certainly didn’t hurt that a few ingredients and some light mixing could produce something promised to be quite tasty.

Today was my first muesli morning.  I made my giant cup of coffee, per usual, and instead of filling up my bowl with yogurt, I spooned in some heaping spoonfuls of muesli, poured a splash of milk on top, and dug in.

I think you can already guess how this story ends–the muesli was EXCELLENT and I ate it like it was going out of style.  It was a little sweet (influenced by the sugar and bananas, I’m sure), a little tart/crunchy (the Granny Smith apple), and perfectly filling.  Best of all, it made a mundane morning special.  And what could be more satisfying than that?

Jessie’s Muesli

1 cup quick oats
1 cup nonfat plain yogurt
1 large Granny Smith apple, or 2 smaller ones, diced bite-size
2 bananas, diced bite-size
3-4 tablespoons dried cranberries
1 tsp white sugar
1 tbsp light brown sugar

Mix together ingredients in a sealable container.  Add 1/2 cup milk, and mix again.  Store in the refrigerator overnight.  The following morning, dish out a bowl and splash some milk on top (“splash” being the operative word here–you aren’t drowning your muesli).  ENJOY!

4 responses

  1. Need to try this. George’s current can’t live without food is cheerios topped with Dorset Cereal’s Berry and Cherry Meusli (it is one of the few commercial muesli/granola cereals that is not pumped with sugar). George may starve if Dorset Cereal goes out of business…..

Leave a Reply

