shrimp and pea risotto

Friends, I have a confession to make: even though I am not sick, invalid, or elderly, I have taken to wearing a bath robe.  And not just after a shower.  No, I literally don my fuzzy blue robe the second–nay, the moment–I step through the threshold of the condo and refuse to take it off until bedtime.

Frigid winter temperatures will do that to an otherwise sane woman, I think.  And, sadly, this strange behavior has permeated my work life, manifesting itself in a desire to print documents only to enjoy their straight-from-the-printer warmth.

So it stands to reason that my food has also become warmer and heartier to fulfill my constant need for toastiness.  And, in my opinion, there are few things warmer or heartier than risotto.  Or, in this case, Shrimp and Pea Risotto.

I know, I know.  Risotto is delicious but needs so much babying! The constant stirring makes your arm ache! You forgot to pour yourself a glass of wine BEFORE the constant stirring began and now you’re chained to your stove while your favorite bottle of Malbec beckons from across the kitchen.  Believe me, I’ve been there.  But I’ve also eaten this yummy dish and really have to insist that you give it a go.  Because if you too have been pushed to your wintry limits these past few weeks, then you need a little respite and a lot of risotto.

Shrimp and Pea Risotto

Courtesy of Cooking with Paula Deen Magazine, January/February 2011

3 tablespoons butter, divided

1 shallot, minced

2 cloves of garlic, minced

1 and 1/2 cups Arborio rice

1/2 cup dry white wine

5 and 1/2 cups warm chicken broth

1 pound peeled and deveined medium fresh shrimp

1 cup frozen peas, thawed

3/4 cup freshly grated Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese

1. In a large saucepan, melt 1 tablespoon butter over medium-high heat.  Add shallot and garlic; cook, stirring frequently, for 4 minutes or until just tender.  Add rice, and cook, stirring constantly, for 3 to 4 minutes or until rice begins to brown.  Add wine, and cook, stirring constantly, until liquid is absorbed.  Add warm chicken broth, 3/4 cup at a time, allowing liquid to be absorbed after each addition, stirring constantly.  Add shrimp and peas; cook, stirring frequently, until shrimp are pink and firm.

2. Remove from heat, and stir in cheese and remaining 2 tablespoons butter. Serve immediately.

4 responses

Leave a Reply

