cats and radishes

Today I made two things:

1) A crocheted stuffed cat…

…and….

2) Radishes with butter and sea salt on toasted slices of French baguette.

The former is the result of my new interest in crocheting and is known as amigurumi (or crocheted stuffed toy).  The latter is a “recipe” (I use quotations because it’s almost too easy to be considered a proper food creation) that I’ve been meaning to try ever since I read about the delicious combination in not one, not two, but three different sources (Ina Garten’s Barefoot in Paris, Molly Wizenberg’s A Homemade Life, and on Smitten Kitchen).

I found the pattern for the cat here.  And I “created” the steps for my yummy appetizer by combining the advice of my three gurus, borrowing mostly from the lovely Molly.  In order, they are:

1) Preheat your oven to 400 degrees.  Thinly slice a fresh French baguette.

2) Toast your baguette slices for about 4 minutes, or until slightly golden.

3) Spread a small pat of butter onto each toasted slice of baguette (I used Kerrygold’s Pure Irish Butter because it tastes AMAZING.  You can find it at most grocery stores in the fancy cheese section).

4) Lay two thin slices of radish on top of each baguette slice.  Sprinkle with sea salt to taste.

This appetizer is surprisingly delicious–the radish adds a peppery bite to the warm, buttery toast and the salt emphasizes these lovely flavors.  Just try to take a moment to appreciate the simple awesomeness of this yummy treat before you scarf it down, because once you dig in, it’s hard to slow down.  I speak from experience here.

Leave a Reply

