chocolate peanut butter pillows

I’m going to start off today’s post with a little story: When I was seven years old, my sister was born.  There are no siblings in between us, which meant that my only-child throne was unceremoniously usurped when I was pretty stinking old.  To make matters worse, Emma (that’s her name, by the way) was adorable and definitely an attention-getter.

So what was a dethroned elementary schooler supposed to do to gain back some semblance of power?  Trade out her unsuspecting little sister’s desirable Halloween candy, leaving said sister with lame alternatives like Smarties, Necco Wafers, and pretzels.  And what did I trade these plain-Jane candies with?  Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups.  Because, since my earliest memories, chocolate and peanut butter has been one of my favorite flavor combinations.

I think you know by now where this is going.  I made yet another peanut butter dessert this weekend and, better still, it was peanut butter with chocolate.  The ultimate mixture of salty and sweet, these Chocolate Peanut Butter Pillows consist of melted peanut butter and chocolate wrapped in buttery puff pastry, sprinkled with granulated sugar, and covered in rainbows and little girl’s dreams.  At least, this little girl’s dreams.

I found the recipe for these lovelies on Joy the Baker’s site (boy howdy, does that girl having baking chops!).  You can eat them by themselves with a tall glass of milk, or you can go all out and accompany these treats with some sinful caramel or chocolate ice cream.  I think you know which route I went.

Leave a Reply

