liz’s rosemary, goat cheese, and honey canapes

Last Friday night, I wasn’t sitting in front of a computer typing up a blog post, drinking a Sam Adams’ Harvest Pumpkin Ale, or watching The Office reruns ad nauseam.  Because last Friday night, I went to Cirque du Soleil’s newest bug-themed show, OVO!  I had never, ever been to a Cirque production, though I’ve watched them countless times on TV, and I was wicked excited to see the spectacle up close and personal.

Now, I don’t want to spoil anything for those of you who plan on checking OVO out, but I will tell you that it was a-ma-zing.  There were contortionists, trapeze artists, tightrope walkers, and all other sorts of wild performers, every last one of whom made me feel completely un-flexible and left me wondering, “How does one get into this line of work?” and “Can I convince them to let me jump on the giant trampolines?”

Since OVO started at 8 pm and I got home around 5:30 pm, there was no way Nate or I (or our co-OVOers, my aunt and my cousin, Jessie) would be able to go out to dinner before the show.  So we agreed on eating ridiculous amounts of appetizers before heading over to the National Harbor.  And having recently devoured (and loved) my good friend Liz’s amazing rosemary, goat cheese, and honey canapes, I asked her for her recipe and recreated these puppies for our app eat-a-thon.

What makes these canapes extra special is that they are ridiculously simple in construction and flavor, but oh, so delicious.  There’s something about the combination of the creamy goat cheese, aromatic rosemary, and lightly sweet honey on a toasty slice of baguette that sends me (and anyone who’s tried them) over the moon.

Keep this recipe in your back pocket for a last-minute cocktail party or appetizer binge-fest, and you can’t go wrong.

Liz’s Rosemary, Goat Cheese, and Honey Canapes

1 baguette, cut on a bias into 3/4 inch slices
1 six or eight oz package of goat cheese (depending on what they have at the store)
Honey
Finely chopped fresh rosemary (about 2-3 tablespoons)
Olive oil

1) Drizzle olive oil over cut baguette pieces (if you use a Tuscan-style bread without salt, sprinkle on some salt).

2) Toast in a 400 degree oven for 5-7 minutes (until crispy).  Keep an eye on it–those suckers can burn quick!

3) While warm, spread goat cheese over each piece.

4) Sprinkle the rosemary over top.

5) Drizzle on some honey.

Leave a Reply

