brown sugar-glazed pork

I can’t believe I haven’t checked in for nearly five days.  This blog is part of my “me time” each week (sorry – I’m really not this touchy-feely on a normal basis), and I’ve been neglecting her way too much. (My blog is a lady.  Deal with it.)  So today, I’m renewing my vows to my blog.  I will stand by her in sickness and in health, forsaking all other blogs, so long as I’m  having fun.  Because, in the end, that’s what this blog thing is all about — fun.  And oversharing.  And food.

Speaking of food, this week marks the coming and going of my second cooking school class.  We focused on measuring all sorts of ingredients accurately (apparently cups and tablespoons are abominations — all ingredients in a professional kitchen are weighed); taking care of our tools (for the most part, our wicked-sharp knives); and reviewing all the ways that you can get seriously injured in a kitchen.  Two important notes from that discussion: 1) DO NOT get water or ice crystals into a deep fryer — it will spray burning-hot oil all over the kitchen, and 2) when you open the steamer, step the heck back, or risk having steam burn your face off or the steamer door breaking your nose.  I also learned that there are convection ovens that can simultaneously steam foods.  Wild, right?

Well, between class and other obligations this week, I was just a little pinched for time and found myself searching for an easy, quick dinner.  I found said dinner in the yummy Brown Sugar-Glazed Pork recipe featured in my new favorite and aptly-named mag, Real Simple.   This dish has three easy-to-find ingredients and makes for a satisfying, quick dinner.  Not a super-exciting dinner, mind you.  But a moist, filling, pleasing meal that perfectly compliments all sorts of sides (in my case, a bag of SteamFresh peas with garlic mushrooms) and doesn’t break the calorie bank.

Brown Sugar-Glazed Pork

Courtesy of Real Simple, July 2010

Ingredients

1/4 cup Worcestershire sauce

2 tablespoons brown sugar

1 and 1/4 lbs pork tenderloin

Kosher salt and freshly ground pepper

In a small bowl, mix together the Worcestershire sauce and brown sugar.  Season the pork tenderloin with 1/2 teaspoon Kosher salt and 1/4 teaspoon of black pepper.  Grill over medium-high heat, turning often, until the internal temperature reaches 150 degrees, 20 to 25 minutes.*  Brush with the Worcestershire mixture during the last 5 minutes of cooking.  Let rest for at least 5 minutes before slicing.

*Being a condo-dweller, I don’t own a grill.  Instead, I put my tenderloin on a broiler pan and cooked it for 1.5 hours in the oven at 350 degrees.  It turned out great.

Leave a Reply

