building a canape

In celebration of my birthday, you may have noticed that I made blackberry cheesecake ice cream. And, if you’ve stopped by my house and peeked in my freezer in recent days, you’ve also noticed that my sizeable Tupperware full of said ice cream is almost empty.  But I digress.

Nate and I made a couple of other treats on my birthday as well.  These were small, appetizer-style dishes, which were only appropriate considering we had gone out to dinner at our absolute favorite restaurant of all time, Restaurant Eve, the night before and gorged ourselves on steak tartare, antelope, sweet breads, and two (!) desserts.  Holy moly.  But I digress yet again.

Today, I’ve decided to share with you the two canapes we tested from Clotilde’s Chocolate and Zucchini cookbook (remember?  we discussed this here).  Each seemed relatively light, which was necessary after our marathon meal the night before, and contained one of my favorite ingredients: goat cheese.  And when the birthday girl wants goat cheese, the birthday girl gets goat cheese.

The process of making canapes is so simple that even Clotilde doesn’t go into it, really.  She directs you to toast or not toast your French bread, brush it with olive oil or don’t, and rub it with a garlic clove or leave it bare.  The rest of her instruction set reads like this: “goat cheese + prosciutto + fig” or “goat cheese + drop of honey + toasted pine nuts” (I am, of course, highlighting the two I tried. There were a number of other equally delicious-sounding combinations).  It’s all pretty self-explanatory, but I’ve broken down the steps I followed for those of you who like visuals:

1) Toast your pine nuts in a dry skillet on the stove top for a few minutes.  Cut your French bread on the bias and lightly toast it in the oven.  Arrange toasted bread on a plate and schmear (the technical term) goat cheese on each slice.
3) Top half of these with prosciutto and the other half with a drop of honey.
4) Top the prosciutto slices with figs (I unfortunately only had dried — they tasted good, but I’m sure fresh is better) and the honey slices with toasted pine nuts.
5) Eat them like they’re going  out of style (sorry, no evidence of this last step will ever see the light of day).

Our favorite (by a hair) was the goat cheese/honey/toasted pine nut combination, but both really were delicious and would make the perfect gnosh before a meal.

One response

  1. Pingback: zucchini carpaccio with raspberry vinegar « In a Condo Far, Far Away

Leave a Reply

