it’s a blog eat blog world

You might call me a food blog fanatic.  I have about thirty food blogs bookmarked in my Google reader, and I follow their new posts religiously.  Some I’ve cooked from and shared with you here.  Others I admire from a distance, either because they don’t include recipes and just wax poetic about food, or  for the simple reason that I’m a wee bit intimidated by the creations they share.  Then there’s the small percentage that I visit just because the food looks so darn pretty and delicious, which is dangerous when you’re hungry and know there are hours between you and your next meal.

But I urge you to throw caution to the wind, and check out the fantastic blogs I’m about to share with you.  They might send you into a downward spiral of food lust and extreme hunger, but never fear: you can always head to the grocery store and make whatever tickles your fancy.  And if you’re crafty, you might just convince a roommate, parent, or significant other to make it for you, so that you can continue your highly important research on the world of gastronomie.

Smitten KitchenI know you’re all familiar with Deb from Smitten Kitchen.  Heck, I try so many of her recipes here, you might think she’s financially supporting me in some way.  Well, sadly, that’s not the case.  I love Deb because her recipes are varied, thoroughly tested, and beautifully captured in her photos.  I think that’s why I can’t stop making her dishes — the photos suck me in and force me to recreate the meals they portray.  It’s witchcraft, I’m sure of it.

My favorite Deb creations include chana masala, chicken and mushroom marsala, Southwestern brisket, spanakopita, and the ultimate guilty pleasure, chocolate sorbet.

Joy the Baker – When you read Joy’s blog, you feel like you’re reading letters from a close, personal friend.  She walks you through every step of the baking process and makes you smile along the way.  Her photos are also gorgeous and always tinged with lovely California light.  Joy gave me my no-roll pie crust recipe and the instructions for the easiest cookie ever, palmiers.

The Kitchn – An offshoot of my go-to design blog, Apartment Therapy, The Kitchn is updated by numerous bloggers, all dedicated to the making and eating of food.  They review cookbooks, kitchen tools, and recipes, and highlight other food bloggers, chefs, and beautiful kitchens.  Basically, it’s a one-stop shop for food enthusiasts, and I love it.  I found my strawberry ice box cake on The Kitchn, and have also tried and loved chicken in milk.

Chocolate & Zucchini – If you’re as enamored with French cooking as I am, then Clotilde’s blog is the site for you.  Each of her recipes is accompanied by a charming story, and I am always amazed that she can take something as intimidating as French cooking and make it accessible.  I just bought her cookbook (aptly titled Chocolate & Zucchini), and I can’t wait to crack it open and flex my culinary muscles.  Right now recipes for gougeres au cumin (savory versions of chouquettes) and frittata feve et menthe (fava bean and mint frittata) are striking my fancy.

Jessica’s Dinner PartyI can’t remember how I found Jessica’s Dinner Party, but I am so glad that I did.  Just 19 years old, Jessica is in Paris studying pastry making at Le Cordon Bleu.  She doesn’t usually include recipes, and her posts are mainly about the appreciation of food.  But she is extremely self-possessed (especially for her 19 years) and her posts are always a pleasure to read.

The Pioneer Woman – Unless you’ve been living under a rock, you’ve probably heard of the Pioneer Woman.  She cooks, she home schools, she gives lessons in photography, and is really just a renaissance woman.  She is another blogger who captures the “talking with a close friend” essence that I always enjoy, and her posts are guaranteed to make you smile and (if you’re in the cooking section of her blog) make you hungry.  Some quick hints on her terminology: the “Marlboro Man” is her husband and the “punks” are her kids.  If you check out her site, you’ll see why this information is helpful.

OrangetteMolly’s is a site that I have ashamedly made nothing from, and yet I love it just the same.  The photography is beautiful, vibrant and sometimes stark, and is able to capture visually everything I love about food and eating (syrup dripping from waffles, caramel shellacked on popcorn, butter pooled on mashed potatoes).  A few years back, Molly wrote A Homemade Life (which I happily own), and she has recently opened her first restaurant (Delancy) in Seattle.  So I think we can all trust that she clearly knows what she’s talking about.

Taste Spotting – Taste Spotting isn’t a blog so much as a “community driven visual potluck” (their words).  After being turned on to this site by my food-loving cousin, Jess, I have been practically addicted to checking in just to see what beautiful creations are on display.  And when I see a foodstuff I like (which happens more often than not), I click on its image and am taken to the blog or website where it lives.  I recommend trying their search engine — I needed a recipe for red velvet whoopie pies (more on that soon!) and was directed to a great recipe from a site I had never heard of before.

Bakerella – Cake pops.  Sound familiar?  Bakerella may have not been the first person to put blobs of cake covered in chocolate on lollipop sticks, but she is definitely the person who perfected them.  Her site, which she updates weekly, is visual eye candy and filled with adorable creations that are often whimsical and always look delicious.  Bakerella works primarily from pre-packaged mixes, so her recipes aren’t nearly as intimidating as, say, Smitten Kitchen’s.  But they’re always totally impressive.

So those are the top nine food sites that I check out religiously.  Do share any others that you think I should be equally addicted to — there’s always room for one, two, three — well, you get the picture — more.

3 responses

  1. I guess I’ve been living under a rock. I don’t know Pioneer woman but she sounds interesting. Hey wanna get together sometime and make the braided lemon bread from SK?

  2. Pingback: building a canape « In a Condo Far, Far Away

Leave a Reply

