no-bake strawberry ice box cake

I love summer.

I love summer because with summer comes fireworks, scads of local fruit and corn, vacation, my birthday, and summertime desserts.  It’s really the only time of year that fruit plays the lead role in many, many tasty treats (from popsicles to tarts to galettes to pies), and I look forward to summer all year long for the opportunity to devour each of these desserts in unholy quantities.

One of my all-time favorite summertime combinations is strawberries and whipped cream.  So when I found a recipe for no-bake strawberry ice box cake on The Kitchn, it felt like a sign from above that I absolutely had to make this dessert.  And considering it needs but 5 ingredients (I left out the rosewater and didn’t make the ganache) and zero time in the oven, this dessert also plays to my the-fewer-ingredients-the-better side and my I-hate-turning-on-the-oven-in-the-summer side.

You start by whipping your cream into a frenzy in your mixer until it forms stiff peaks.  Slather some of that cream onto the bottom of the 13″x9″ that you’re using as your assembly dish, then start laying down your graham cracker foundation.  Four layers of graham crackers, whipped cream, and sliced strawberries later, and you have assembled a pretty impressive dessert.  I didn’t create the ganache drizzle, since I’m a strawberries-and-cream purist, but I certainly won’t judge you if you go for it.

The most difficult step in this recipe is waiting 4 hours for the graham crackers to soften (but not get mushy) in the fridge.  Then you’re ready to slice it up into generous pieces and serve it to your company, who has been waiting with bated breath.  Just be sure to save yourself an extra large slice to eat in front of the refrigerator at, oh, say, 1 am the next morning.  You’ll be happy you did.

One response

  1. Pingback: it’s a blog eat blog world « In a Condo Far, Far Away

Leave a Reply

