bittman’s classic chocolate chip cookies

Anyone who works in an office knows that nothing brings joy to those caught in the daily grind more than home made baked goods. I’m not sure why that is — maybe it’s the break in monotony or maybe it’s the promise of a sugar-high — but people flock to treats like they’ve never, ever had dessert before. I am one of those people.

You might imagine that I am constantly bringing food in for my co-workers, considering the staggering number of sweets I make at home. But Nate is a force to be reckoned with, and truthfully, we never have that many leftovers. A few Sundays ago, I decided to break this trend, and made cookies for the express purpose of sharing them with Nate’s and my co-workers. And what’s more universally enjoyed than chocolate chip cookies?

Making treats was the perfect excuse to try a dessert from my new cookbook, How to Cook Everything. I had all of the ingredients for Classic Chocolate Chip/Chunk Cookies, so I got to baking.

Now, I was working on these at about 10 pm on a Sunday night, so I did not pay the sort of attention to avoiding over-beating and keeping butter cold that I usually do. Thus, inevitably, the cookies spread quite a bit when I baked them. And yet, they were still completely yummy, and absolutely worth making. The best part? The chocolate to dough ratio, which was out of this world. Every bite had chocolate in it and was heavenly.

Classic Chocolate Chip Cookies

1/2 pound unsalted butter, softened

3/4 cup granulated sugar

3/4 cup brown sugar

2 eggs

2 cups all-purpose flour

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

2 cups chopped good-quality (I used Ghirardelli) semisweet chocolate (about 8 ounces)

Heat oven to 375 degrees. Use an electric mixer to cream together the butter and sugars; add the eggs one at a time and beat until well blended.

Mix the flour, baking soda, and salt together in a bowl. Add the dry ingredients to the dough, beat for a moment, then add the vanilla and stir in the chocolate chips.

Drop tablespoon-size mounds of dough about 3 inches apart in rows and columns on ungreased baking sheets. Bake until lightly browned, about 10 minutes. Cool for about 2 minutes on the sheets before using a spatula to transfer the cookies to a rack to finish cooling. Store in a tightly covered container at room temperature for no more than a day or two.

One response

  1. Pingback: 2010 in review « In a Condo Far, Far Away

Leave a Reply

