homemade, no-roll pie crust

Friend, come have a seat over here next to me.  (Pats couch cushion.)  We need to talk.  No, no, not about any bad news.  In fact, I have very good news.  I have found an awesome new food blogger to follow.  That’s right.  Her name is Joy, and she is the author and proprietress of a beautiful blog called, Joy the Baker.

No, I haven’t known about Joy for very long.  We were just recently introduced, in fact.  But in our short week as friends, I have made three of her recipes.  And they are all very good.  Today, I’d like to tell you about her easy, no-roll pie crust.  I made this in conjunction with my favorite quiche recipe this past weekend, and I don’t think I’ll be buying a pre-made, frozen pie crust ever again.

This crust is buttery, flaky, and everything a pie crust should be.  As promised, there’s no rolling involved, and it takes only minutes to pull together.  Leave in the sugar for a sweet pie, or leave it out for something more savory (like a quiche).  I baked my crust before pouring in the contents of my quiche, thereby avoiding a “soggy bottomed” crust debacle.

I baked this quiche in the morning and reheated it in the evening for Sunday dinner.  When you’re reheating a quiche, preheat your oven to 350 degrees, cut the quiche into eight slices (so that the oven will heat the center of the quiche, not just the crust), and pop it in for about 15 minutes or until it’s warm all the way through.

I’m glad we had this talk.  Now go make a pie.  Oh, and don’t forget to save me a slice.

One response

  1. Pingback: it’s a blog eat blog world « In a Condo Far, Far Away

Leave a Reply

