no, that’s not a typo: chicken with 40 cloves of garlic

That’s right, my friends.  I took the plunge.  After recommendations from not one but two friends, I decided to go ahead and try my hand at Ina Garten’s famous (infamous?) Chicken with Forty Cloves of Garlic.

A lot of people shy away from just a teensy bit of garlic, so I’m sure forty cloves will strike fear into the hearts of a few of you.  And you may wonder if I’m anticipating having to ward off throngs of vampires.   Well, for better or for worse, I am a garlic maniac who willingly drags Nate down with me into the deep, dark depths of stinky, garlicky breath-dom.  That’s the thing about garlic — everyone has to have some to stand being around one another.

The great thing about this recipe is that you shouldn’t have any trouble getting kith and kin to eat this delicious meal.  The garlic is boiled and later sautéed, taking away any bitterness and actually leaving you with bites of slightly sweet cloves.  The roux (a mixture of flour and fat) that you create with the butter, oil, cream, cooking juices, and flour becomes a sort of gravy that totally envelopes your chicken; your chicken that is perfectly cooked  and very tender (even the white meat).

One alteration I made to this dish was to use just one, four-pound chicken as opposed to two, three-and-one-half-pound chickens.  The proportion of sauce to chicken didn’t seem to affect the dish in the slightest. Also, I didn’t have Cognac on hand, so I used plain, ol’ brandy (still awesome). So give it a whirl and be sure to let me know how it goes.

One response

  1. Pingback: news to me: roasted bell pepper salad « In a Condo Far, Far Away

Leave a Reply

