keep it (really) simple stupid: spaghetti with cheese and black pepper

I think that no matter who you are or what you do, you’ll inevitably come home some evening and think, “I cannot walk another step/keep my eyes open for five more seconds/read one more email, much less cook dinner.”  This past Wednesday evening was one of those nights for me; I had been working on events both Monday and Tuesday (which meant waking up early and staying up late, plus spending lots of time running around), and by Wednesday I was burned out.  Beat.  Down for the count.  But I didn’t want to nuke a Lean Cuisine or heat up a pizza — I wanted something homemade and simple.  So I turned to this recipe.

I can’t overstate how easy Spaghetti with Cheese and Black Pepper is.   If you can boil water, drain a pot, and grate cheese, you’re golden.  On top of the easy peasy work required, you only need five ingredients to pull this dish together.  You may, in fact, have these ingredients at your disposal right this very minute.

This dish turns out very, very good.  The  pecorino romano cheese  adds a salty deliciousness, and the ground pepper gives the recipe a nice, spicy bite.  And the butter and olive oil never, ever hurt.  So before you reach for the frozen whatever you have stashed in the back of your freezer, consider making this.

Leave a Reply

