a pound cake *almost* too pretty to eat

This past Saturday, Nate and I were invited to my Aunt’s house for de-trimming the Christmas tree.  To sweeten the deal, we were offered — in exchange for our tree-wrastlin’ services — a dinner of grillades and grits (courtesy of the drawling, ultra-Southern Paula Deen).  Anybody heard of a “grillade” before?  Me either.  But oh is it good.

To accompany this really fantastic meal (my post isn’t about my Aunt’s dinner, but you should absolutely whip it up for yourself), I went with my tried and true Betty Crocker pound cake recipe.  The twist?  I baked it in my AWESOME NEW BUNDT PAN!  Did you see that twist coming?  It was pretty predictable.

Anywho, though I’ve made this cake a number of times, I still had fears about my new pan.  Namely, would the cook time change since the pan is so heavy and thick?  (Turns out, no.)  What I didn’t expect was that I would flub the recipe that I’ve (did I happen to mention?) made a million times.  I didn’t soften the butter nearly enough and had to try to combat the mini pats of butter floating in my batter without whipping too much air into the mix.

I was really expecting the cake to be a dud after my mishap, but it actually turned out just as buttery, moist, and wonderful as I’d remembered.  The crust is especially good, soft yet firm.  Better still, it holds up to any amount of icing…

…or powdered sugar dusting you want.

This is no time for temperance.

Pound Cake (from Betty Crocker’s Cookbook, Tenth Edition)

3 cups all-purpose flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/4 teaspoon salt

2 and 1/2 cups granulated sugar

1 cup butter, softened (seriously people, make sure it’s softened!)

1 teaspoon vanilla or almond extract

5 large eggs

1 cup milk

1. Heat oven to 350 degrees.  Grease bottom and sides of a 12-cup fluted tube cake pan or two 9×5 loaf pans.  Lightly flour.

2. In a medium bowl, mix flour, baking powder and salt; set aside.  In a large bowl, beat granulated sugar, butter, vanilla and eggs with electric mixer on low speed for 30 seconds, scraping bowl constantly.  Beat on high speed 5 minutes, scraping bowl occasionally.  Beat flour mixture into sugar mixture alternately with milk (I did this in 3 additions of each ingredient) on low speed, beating just until smooth after each addition.  Pour into pan.

3. Bake fluted tube cake pan 1 hour 10 minutes to 1 hour 20 minutes, loaf pans 55 to 60 minutes, until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean.  Cool 20 minutes, then remove from pan(s) to wire rack.  Cool completely, about 2 hours.

From here you can mix up your own glaze with powdered sugar and milk (go easy on the milk — it goes a long way), or just sift powdered sugar over top.  Yum!

2 responses

  1. Pingback: awesome lemon pound cake « In a Condo Far, Far Away

Leave a Reply

