sausage and bell pepper meatloaf

Surprise, surprise, Katie’s back with another recipe that centers around meat.  But to be fair, I have changed things up a bit — I’m cooking beef!  With pork!  And some egg as a binder.  I’m a kosher kitchen’s dream!!!

All kidding aside, as a recent meatloaf convert, I was excited to try this recipe .  I used to think meatloaf was just disgusting, which is the fault of both public school cafeteria food and — Mom, please forgive me — these “healthy” ground turkey (i.e. sawdust) mini meatloaf things deceptively called “savories.”  But Nate’s a big-time carnivore, so I try to indulge his “put lots of meats together on the same plate!” wishes whenever I can.

The prep for the recipe is a cinch.  Whisk up a quick sauce using canned tomato sauce and two eggs, chop a bell pepper and an onion (see my tutorial below for easy onion chopping!), toss in garlic, both meats, and cracker crumbs, mush them together, and put them in your loaf pan.  Then pour some more sauce on top and pop the whole concoction in the oven (I put the loaf pan on top of a cookie sheet to catch any drips).  And learn from my mistake: get this going RIGHT WHEN YOU GET HOME!  Or over the weekend.  Or at least read the entire recipe BEFORE you start cooking and take note of the 1 hour and 10 minute cook time.  Ay dios mio, we didn’t eat until 9 pm.  9 PM!

But if you find yourself in my unfortunate situation, just shake up a nice drink for yourself and watch a few episodes of Modern Family on abc.com.  Laughter staves off the hunger pains for a little while.  Then, when your meatloaf finally has an internal temperature of 160 degrees, take it out of the oven, praise the food gods for answering your feeble prayers, and try to let it cool off a bit before digging in.

Before I get into the “what I’ll do next time”s, I want to say that this was really tasty.  The onion and bell peppers had a nice, slight crunch, and the flavor of the sausage stood out in a yummy, not too heavy way.  When I make this again, I’ll add just 1 cup of onion and 1 cup of bell pepper (instead of 1 and 1/2 cups of each).  Doing this should cut down on the liquid produced when cooking.  Nate and I drained this liquid and were super happy with the results.

I think I’ve hit a big milestone in my 12-step meatloaf program: acceptance.

Okay, it’s time for that tutorial.  I learned this easy, awesome, tear-free way to chop an onion from some Food Network celebrity.  It takes only three steps and three brain cells.  And three terrible photos.

First, slice the onion lengthwise, being sure you don’t complete the cut (this will make your life easier in the following steps).

Then slice the onion a few times in the opposite direction (still being sure not to cut all the way through).

Finally, flip the onion over and slice the onion a few more times, like so:

You are now an onion master.  With great onion chopping skills comes great responsibility.

2 responses

Leave a Reply

